Writing & Publishing

As an older writer, adjusting to the constantly changing technology (not to mention: terms of reference) of the publishing world, I had been in the habit of saying, ‘times are changing’.  Willing to retrain myself, and then retrain myself again, to stay abreast of the new cultural scene.  But this morning it hit me that times were not simply changing, they had CHANGED!  The landscape and the terms of reference are so utterly different from the world I entered, when I left high school and home and headed for the big city to be a part of something.

I could be on another planet!

How this affects my writing, is something that is always on the fringe of my awareness.  And I’d like to hear how others of my generation are coping (tail-end of the Boomers, like the arrowhead, y’know?  What devils have on the ends of their tails, that’s us.)  And also, more importantly perhaps, I want to continue to read young writers, new and emerging writers telling me about this unfamiliar planet.

At the moment Pomonal Publishing is bent a little towards the writing of my generation (especially when publishing poets, because, as Frances Holloway asks on her blog: who reads poetry anymore?)  But good writing (good?) reaches across time and space, doesn’t it?  Any new young writers out there finding it difficult to get published, but serious about the art of writing?  I’d like to hear from you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing, Writing & Publishing

Leave feedback, ask a question, request a book:

